The Catcher in the rye


Catcher in the rye

So  in my last post I mentioned about embracing the “noise in my head” & guess what ? I kinda lucked out recently regarding that!! I’ll tell you how!

Ok so my MBA is all done & I am back home, vacationing for a month before I join the big bad corporate world .I decided to start reading “The catcher in the Rye” by J D Salinger  & OMG!!–

Before you read further, a caveat!- I am soo not revealing the plot. That’s the worst thing you can do for the books’s potential readers! Here is my two cents on my takeaway from it. If you find the general direction interesting, you should pick up your own copy or else wiki it for the plot will you 😉 or better still if you have read the book already, figure if someone else felt the same way too.

 So ok back to OMG!! – If ever someone had a constant voice in their head.. this unending monologue with themselves.. Amusing , depressing , enlightening , omnipresent  , it was The Protagonist in this book, this dude named  Holden Caulfield!!

His conscious, lets call it conscious for fun can we? His conscious is fun! Depressing, but so very like our own voice in the head. I fell in love with it. Headsup though – this fellow finds just about everything & nearly everyone quite depressing & phony (He really loves this word). But his thought process & his flashpan opinions are so captivating!!

I read through about 40 pages waiting for the story to start, not complaining, cause I was enjoying “the noise in this dude’s head” cause you know I thought I’ll understand him better.. Was all Context building I thought, till I realized hell !! It seems this is it!! This perpetual dialogue he is having with himself is the story! His life, his observations on the small, the mundane, his loneliness, and his continuous rant is the story!!

& you know why I kept reading? Cause I love the rant! I know the rant! I know we kinda suppress the rant, what with all of us conditioned to be “with it” & being all hunky dory positive all the time. In the words of the dude in the book – It goddamn makes me wanna puke!! Imagine that! Although I use “rant” to describe his soliloquy , I don’t mean to trivialize it in any way. Thing is – The subject of his outpourings change abruptly, making Holden sound very close to be just a regular whiner, but if you read with an empathetic  approach , You’ll kinda find yourself in those sentences somewhere. We all have experienced utter loneliness & confusion some time or other.

  I think the secret to enjoying this book , is to kinda say , Oh Hol Ol boy! I see what u are talking about . I hate em buggers too! Which one? Oh all of em , no one in particular. Let’s talk . No really!! 😉

In fact there is this passage in the book , where Holden talks about why he likes his fave authors & the criteria is – well when u put down the book , you kinda want to call the author like he is an ol buddy & have a regular friendly conversation! I think it made Holden a bit more likable just for that! No idea why!

Honestly though, I thought I would be depressed, cause of his book. Weirdly enough it was liberating!! Maybe it’s a little validation for talking to myself  & shooting weird looks to people every now & then (Sometimes its cause I don’t have my glasses on , but that’s something else altogether)  😉

Literary critics will have differing opinions & maybe Old Salinger (if he ever came to know my verdict on his work) would be all like – Hell no!! That’s not the idea! But I’m just saying! Dude I loved your 200 page crazyass rant .

I would love to know what you guys thought about the book!  Isn’t that  a wonderful  thing about a book? Different people take away different ideas from the same book  🙂

or If you haven’t read it yet , do you intend to now?

catcher in the rye 2

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Hair my woes on the FRENEMY! | sentientbeingblog

Would love to hear what you have to say!

The Good Greatsby

Paul Johnson's comedy blog: I didn't get into comedy to be rich or famous. All I've ever wanted was to be loved...by somebody rich and famous.

TweeGirls EenBlog

Anything and everything that two girls can blog about in South Africa! English and Afrikaans combine to give you fashion advice, product reviews, experiences, and whatever else we can think of, all in one blog! Get what you need from TweeGirls EenBlog!

Ashish Shakya

Writer. Stand-up comic. General idiot for hire.

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Freemagination

Free your imagination and express your original ideas

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

"CORE ANALYSIS"

This blog is dedicated to Social Causes, Humanity, Poetry, Business, Entrepreneurship and Entertainment, “Happy Reading”

stagnum memoriae

Stories, ideas, and unspoken words.

Walk The Line

Guided by Karma, Dharma and Drama!

Fortheloveoflife's Weblog

I believe that work speaks louder than any kind of marketing or packaging tagline which I can come up with. So here's to good taste! Cheers!

Lost Silence

Its about learning to let go of your silence

A Small Press Life

Not just a blog, a philosophy

aquotesquotes

Just another Quotes Site

ThinkRasta

youth marketing blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

